• Please check your Twitter settings!
  • School Calendar

    July 2017
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar    
  • Curriculum

    Curriculum Planning – Summer 2017

    Curriculum Planning – Spring 2017

    Curriculum Planning – Autumn 2016

    Maths Written Calculation Policy – Part 2

    Reading – Colour Bands

    The New Curriculum 2014

    In Autumn 2014 the government introduced changes to the National Curriculum which is taught in all maintained Primary Schools. These Schools are required to follow the programme of study, on the basis of Key Stages and subject content; those subjects should be taught to all pupils. From Autumn 2014 you will notice that there are changes to our curriculum planning found on this page of our website. These changes will be completed for years 1, 3, 4 and 5 by summer 2015, but for years 2 and 6 they will not be completed until summer 2016. At this time new statutory assessments will be introduced at the end of KS1 and KS2.

    For Statutory Guidance for the national curriculum programmes of study for Key Stage 1 and 2, go to: www.gov.uk/government/publications/nationalcurriculum.


    The curriculum is planned to promote the intellectual, personal, social, emotional and physical development of our children within a Christian framework. We are committed to developing mature learners and to providing a challenging, exciting and happy environment to encourage our pupils to:
    • become active participants in their own learning

    • apply the skills they have acquired in a variety of contexts to a range of situations

    • make relevant connections between school and adult life

    • be flexible in adaptingto the demands of the future.

    • become life-long learners and learn to appreciate and enjoy the wealth of knowledge that is there to be discovered.

    The majority of school activities are provided without charge. However on some occasions it is necessary to ask parents for a voluntary financial contribution.

    To enhance the curriculum, all classes partake in a variety of outside visits, including a 5-day residential trip towards the end of Year 6.


    All classes have access to the Music Suite, laptop computers and Library. All classrooms and the hall are fitted with interactive white boards, and children use laptops in class when taking part in Computing lessons. There are also a number of small areas and rooms where children can work in small groups under the supervision of a Learning Support Assistant. The SEN Support room is also used for this purpose and has a wide range of resources to support children who may need a little extra help or challenge in particular areas.

    Early Years Foundation Stage (Nursery and Reception classes) The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.  This includes the seven areas of learning: The Prime Areas, personal, social and emotional development; physical development; communication and language, The Specific Areas,  literacy; mathematics; understanding the world;  expressive arts and design.

    Activities are planned which enable the children to develop and build upon their different experiences and strengths. Those who are working above expected levels are challenged to extend the child’s learning within a practical, relevant and meaningful environment.

    From Years 1 to 6 teaching is based upon the National Curriculum, which includes: The core subjects; Maths, English and Science. The foundation subjects; Computing, Religious Education, Art and Design, Design Technology, Geography, History, Music, Physical Education and Personal, Social, Health and Economic education which is non-statutory but included as best practice. In addition children in Years 3 to 6 have weekly lessons in French.

    Whole school planning and on-going assessment ensures that relevant age and ability related experiences are delivered to children in all National Curriculum areas.

    Skip to toolbar